Gananda Dollars for Scholars Awards Over $26K to 29 Seniors
On Monday June 11, 2012 the Gananda Dollars for Scholars awarded scholarships totaling $26,625 to 29 students from the school district's Class of 2012. All qualified applicants were selected for at least one award. Many sponsors along with previous recipients, helped with the presentations.
Receiving scholarships were:
  • Kristy Allen - SUNY Potsdam - K & D Disposal Salutatorian Scholarship, Phone-a-thon Award and Gananda Performing Arts Boosters Scholarship.
  • Molly Bufton - Monroe Community College - Airy Acres Sportsmanship Award and Gananda Sports Booster Award.
  • Jacob Carder - SUNY Oswego - Long Acres Farms Award, Phone-a-thon Award and Walworth Fire Department Most Improved in Music Award.
  • Justin Clark - Washington and Jefferson College - Mowers4U Inc. Scholarship, Evergreen Hills Self-Storage WTTC Award, Gananda Community Youth Theatre Award and Walworth Chamber of Commerce WTCC Award.
  • Jon Davis - Monroe Community College and - Baldwin Richardson Food Scholarship.
  • Sydney Doway - Monroe Community College - Drumlin Square Lodge No. 1180 Award and Phone-a-thon Award.
  • Emily Eddy who will be attending Nazareth College received the Gananda PTSA Scholarship, Assemblyman Bob Oaks Award, and the Phone-a-thon Award
  • Steven Fisher - Rochester Institute of Technology - Gananda Sports Boosters Award.
  • Tiffany Gregoire - St. John Fisher College - Foundations of the Future Award, Phone-a-thon Award, GDFS "911" Award, and Luanne D. Palatas Bentzoni Memorial Award
  • Phillip Hartman - Monroe Community College - Joshua Peter Bourgeois Memorial Scholarship, Boys Scouts of America-Troop 167 Eagle Scholarship, Gananda Sports Boosters Award and Nettie Bullis Prize in Business.
  • Carissa Kelly - Juniata College - Phone-a-thon Award, Ryan J. Loftis Memorial Scholarship and Children's Continuous Care Music Award.
  • Kelly Kier - Finger Lakes Community College - Gananda Sports Boosters Award and Walworth Order of the Eastern Star.
  • Matthew Kulp - Monroe Community College - Dee Happell Memorial and Walworth Grange Award.
  •  Adam Livingston - University of Rochester - Palmyra Moose Family Life Center Scholarship and Walworth Auxiliary Fire Department Award.
  • Taylor Maiorana - University of Richmond - Joshua Peter Bourgeois Memorial Scholarship, Foundations of the Future Award, Phone-a-thon Award and Gananda CSD Distinguished Panther Award.
  • Victoria Mikolajczyk - Wells College - Gananda Pharmacy Chemistry Academic Award and Gananda CSD Distinguished Panther Award.
  • Amanda Moore - University of Richmond - Susan Alexander Memorial Scholarship, Foundations of the Future Award and Phone-a-thon Award.
  • Kaitlyn Morgan - Finger Lakes Community College - Ruben A. Cirillo Award and Emily Paige Bickert Human Spirit Award.
  • Ian Palmer - St. Bonaventure University - Gananda Sports Boosters Award.
  • Alexandra Parrinello - Monroe Community College - Foundations of the Future Award, and Phone-a-thon Award.
  • Michael Powell - Monroe Community College - Blue Heron Hills Golf Club Scholarship and Boy Scouts of America- Troop 167 Eagle Scholarship.
  • Parastou Ranjbar - Wake Forest University - Lyons National Bank Valedictorian Scholarship, Phone-a-thon Award and Abraham Bullis Prize in Mathematics.
  • Delaney Roach - Monroe Community College - Liebert Family Visual Arts Scholarship, and Macedon Center Twirlette Award.
  • Evan Schwind - Finger Lakes Community College - Baldwin Richardson Foods Scholarship, Phone-a-thon Award and Boy Scouts of America-Troop 167 Eagle Scholarship.
  • Jessica Suchan - LeMoyne College - JD Chapman Agency, Inc. Award and Phone-a-thon Award.
  • Alexis Tubiolo - University of Buffalo - Richard Mann Award, Gananda Parents' Association Scholarship and Phone-a-thon Award.
  • Devin Vogt - University of Pittsburgh - Rich Struzzi Memorial Scholarship, Phone-a-thon Award and Gananda Sports Boosters Award.
  • Kelly Weill - New York University - Foundations of the Future Award, Western Wayne Art Group- Thomas McCune Award, Phone-a-thon Award and Children's Continuous Care Music Award.
  • Alexandra York - Point Park University - Get-It-Straight Orthodontics College Scholarship Award, Phone-a-thon Award and Gananda Community Youth Theatre Award.
Every year, Gananda Dollars for Scholars organizes several fundraisers to generate scholarship funds. The "phone-a-thon," the largest fundraiser, distributed $5600 to 16 graduating seniors this year.
Winners of the Phone-a-thon Awards are recognized for their consistent demonstration of high personal and academic standards throughout his or her high school career. These same students will receive an additional amount as college sophomores through the multi-year Scholarships Plus initiative when they confirm both the successful completion of their first year of college and the registration for the second.
The following 17 graduates of 2011, received Phone-a-thon Awards as college freshman, will receive $4250 as sophomores through Scholarship Plus:
Audrey Allen
Jessica Bade
Nicole Berg
Sarah Dermady
Taylor Goebel
William Heumann
Alyssa Joy
Kailee Kulik
Taylor Kulik
Johnnathan Lopez
Devin Muha
Morgan Nims
Melissa Reeves
Danielle Stoner
Rudy Trosin
Tanya Vasilik
Retiring high school English teacher, Cynthia Carroll, was the guest speaker of the evening. Mrs. Mary Smith, retiring Guidance secretary was recognized for her efficient processing of college paperwork through the years. Dr. Shawn VanScoy recognized chapter officials for their "2012 Regional Chapter of the Year" honors. Lisa Finnegan graciously emceed the evening. Maureen Doway, parent of a senior and new volunteer for GDFS, commented, "Lisa Finnegan was such a charismatic master of ceremony. The way the scholarships and awards were presented by community donors, sponsors, and past recipients all made the whole evening special and enjoyable. Gananda is very fortunate to have a high quality organization with such integrity in our community."
For more information on Gananda Dollars for Scholars and its activities, visit To initiate a new scholarship or to volunteer, contact Lisa Fox at (315) 986-3980.